Of Spiderlings and Fungus

Ohhh let’s see… various things to post about. As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been traveling a lot. It’s only been a little over a week that I’ve since settled back into my apartment. I found one female surrounded by numerous spiderlings! She’s since moved off, but I think her children are still chilling out where she had been. It’s hard to tell, they’re at a portion of the ceiling that’s hard for me to really see. It’s very possible that the darker spots I see up there are clumps of dust.

There were also some larger, but still young, spiders that had hunkered down near a spot of my sink. I was very happy for these guys because they had taken out some of the ants that had been plaguing my apartment.

The ants were one of the reasons that I was looking forward to the eggsacs hatching; I needed my spider army to take care of these guys. I wasn’t so patient for the spiderlings to grow up though, and I may have messed with some of their habitats when I went hardcore anti-ants on the apartment. For the most part, I think they survived.

I still need to fish out my camera. There’s still a lot of very large females out back that I’d like to get some shots of. Also, I (begrudgingly) had to go down to my basement recently, and found several fungus-covered spiders. Yay, internet, for enlightening me on what the heck I found was. I’ve never seen such a thing, but they didn’t even twitch when I blew air at them, so it must be these dead, fungus-ridden guys. Poor things. They were the strangest sight; I wasn’t even sure they were spiders at first. As much as I loathe going into my basement, I should take a look again.

…completely unrelated to spiders, but I find it interesting that the user of the linked post is named Pam from Bourne, MA. My aunt is named Pam and she lived in Bourne… Haha, maybe they are one in the same?

Leave a Reply

